# Proposed Decision to be Made by the Deputy Leader (Finance and Property) on or after 18 October 2019

# Addition of two Developer-funded Highway Schemes to the Capital Programme

#### Recommendation

That the Deputy Leader (Finance and Property) gives approval to add the following schemes to the Capital Programme:

- Provision of new bus stops on Campden Road (B4035) in Shipston-on-Stour, at an approximate cost of £38,000 fully funded from a developer contribution; and
- Improvements to bus stops on junction of Mancetter Road and Camp Hill Road in Nuneaton, at an approximate cost of £16,000 fully funded from a developer contribution.

## 1.0 Key Issues

- 1.1 On 15 May 2018, the Council reconfirmed the delegated power to the Leader, or body nominated by them, to approve the addition to the Capital Programme of schemes costing less than £2.0million, which are funded from external grants, developer contributions or from revenue. The Portfolio Holder for Finance and Property is that nominated body.
- 1.2 The provision and enhancement of bus stops in Shipston-on-Stour and Nuneaton will be fully funded by an applicable Section 106 developer contribution discharged to the County Council, which has been received. The addition of these schemes to the Capital Programme will not affect the overall level of capital resources available to the County Council.

# 2.0 Further Details about the Funding and the Schemes

- 2.1 Provision of New Bus Stops on Campden Road in Shipston-on-Stour
  A planning application was submitted to Stratford-on-Avon District Council in relation to the former IMI Norgren Site on Campden Road in Shipston-on-Stour.
  Planning permission was granted on 14 October 2016 (Planning Application No. 16/01002/FUL) and this requires the Developer to make a Bus Stop Contribution of £38k to the County Council upon occupation of the first dwelling. The funding is earmarked towards providing bus stops on Campden Road to serve the new development.
- 2.2 <u>Improvements to Bus Stops on the Junction of Mancetter Road and Camp Hill Road in Nuneaton</u>

A planning application was submitted to Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council relating to Land at the Former Reservoir Site on Mancetter Road in Nuneaton. Planning permission was granted on 19 December 2018 (Planning Application No. 035448) and this requires the Developer to make a Highway Improvements Contribution of £16k to the County Council prior to the first occupation of the dwellings. The funding is earmarked towards delivering improvements to the bus stops on the junction of Mancetter Road and Camp Hill Road, which shall include raised kerbs, bus stop poles and bus stop clearway box markings.

## 3.0 Financial Implications

3.1 The schemes described above are fully funded by Section 106 developer contributions which are ring-fenced for the works described. The Council is therefore unable to utilise the funding on any alternative schemes and the addition of these schemes to the capital programme will not affect the overall level of available capital resources. The works are expected to start and finish within the 2019-20 financial year. However, the commencement of the works is dependent on the contractor mobilisation processes and may slip. Any slippage will be reported in the normal quarterly monitoring process.

## 4.0 Timescales associated with the decision and next steps

4.1 Subject to the recommendation being agreed, it is anticipated that each scheme will be completed within the 2019-20 financial year.

# **Background papers**

None

	Name	Contact Information
Report Author	Nigel Whyte	nigelwhyte@warwickshire.gov.uk
		Tel: 01926 412179
Assistant Director	David Ayton-Hill	davidayton-hill@warwickshire.gov.uk
		Tel: 01926 418603
Strategic Director	Mark Ryder	markryder@warwickshire.gov.uk
		Tel: 01926 412811
Deputy Leader	Cllr Peter Butlin	cllrbutlin@warwickshire.gov.uk
(Finance and		Tel: 01788 816488
Property)		

The report was circulated to the following members prior to publication:

Local Member(s): Cllr Jo Barker (Shipston)

Cllr Corinne Davis (Camp Hill)

Other members: Councillors Roodhouse, Singh Birdi, Warwick, O'Rourke, Butlin,

Chattaway and Boad.